East Washington Dollars for Scholars

East Washington DFS continues to make dreams come true
For the past 30 years the East Washington Dollars for Scholars has been providing scholarships for Eastern High School students.
In fact, 2022 marked the 30th anniversary. The group has grown from $2,000 in 1992 to $500,000 awarded to date.
Scholarships are not only awarded to graduating seniors, according to DFS board president, Kelly McCormick. She said any Eastern High School graduate over the past four years can apply for a scholarship and receive money.
“That is good even if they decided to take a gap year,” McCormick said at the Fourth of July festival Monday.
Another board member, Terry Thixton said she originally got involved with the group 17 years ago because she wanted to find out more information for her daughter, but she loved the purpose of the group.
“Every kid deserves to have a dream come true and go to college and these help that happen,” she said to the crowd at Monday’s scholarship presentation.
Thixton said some scholarships that were at one time matched by colleges, are no longer doing so.
That’s why she said, now more than ever, the DFS need more volunteers to raise more money so the group can help to make more of those dreams come true.
McCormick said anyone who would like to get involved, or any student or recent graduate who would like more information can get the information at the group’s website eastwashington.dollarsforscholars.org.
Students who received scholarships during the Fourth of July presentation ceremony were (some students were not present): college students: Margaret Olesh, Mercedes Terrell, Brant Farris and Marissa Murphy, Nancy Clark, Triston Miller, Owen Pickerill and Rachel Applegate.
Members of the Class of 2022 who received DFS scholarships were: Caleb Jones, Natalie Blevins, Chloe Feist, Shae Calfee, James Elliott, Dylan Beach, Hannah Drury, Anna Brown, Lexi Metts, Dylan Everage, Megan Glass, McKenna Jeter, Brenna Farris, Sydney Broy, Eli Guthrie, Micah Robinson, Katelynn Rankin, Conner Fleming, Mathew Crady, Liberty Lincks, Christina Knight, Kyla Rickard, Kassey Mount, Mattie Moore and Emrie Sabens.


Please Login for Premium Content

Site Login Help

For current subscribers to The Salem Leader and The Salem Democrat, you can login to the site using the following information:

Username: Please use your full email address associated with your account
Password: Please use your last name. Passwords are case sensitive, so please capitalize your last name (eg: Smith)